Parker Massignan from University of South Carolina

Parker Massignan

Academic Excellence Scholar, Honors Student at University of South Carolina

Yorktown, VA, USA


Last updated January 4, 2021

One Sentence About Me  

Optimistic, outgoing, adaptable, resilient

Who I Am  

A Little About Me

I was born in Omaha, Nebraska and have lived in Virginia since 2013. I plan to graduate from University of South Carolina in May, 2022 with my B.S. in International Business and Economics, along with a French minor. I spend my free time as a member of two student organizations, Gamma Phi Beta Sorority and Women LEAD. If I'm not in a meeting for one of them, you can probably find me at the gym!

Interesting Factoid

I've been skydiving twice!


Languages

French Proficient
English

Countries Visited

Map View

Canada

What I Do  


Professional Experience

State Farm

Account Management Intern

Jan 2020 - Mar 2020
I was able to work as an Account Management Intern at a State Farm branch in Columbia, SC in Spring 2021. Our five-person team built client-specific insurance packages in alignment with State Farm's goal of needs-based selling. This required Property, Casualty, Life, Health, and Accidental insurance licenses through the SC Dept of Insurance. Unfortunately, my internship came to a premature end in March, when I lost my university housing for the shutdown.

Professional Expertise

Budgeting
CRM
Sales
Insurance
Fundraising
Event planning
Microsoft Excel

What I Stand For  

Social Causes

Building strong girls


Volunteer Experience

Columbia, SC, USA

Aug 2018 - Present
My sorority, Gamma Phi Beta, supports Girls on the Run as our philanthropy. Girls on the Run encourages healthy habits in girls growing up in at-risk communities. This includes volunteering for the bi-annual GOTR 5k and fundraising through in-person and online events. My chapter helps set up and take down the 5k, canvas the track, and run with girls from the community.

What Inspires Me  

Favorites  

Hobbies

Hiking
Weightlifting
Reading
Biking

Food & Drinks

Wings

Sports, Teams, Athletes

Olympic Weightlifting
Soccer

Mattie Rogers
Morghan King

Bucket List  

Higher Education

I would love to go back to school after working for a few years!

Scuba Diving

Getting scuba certified has always been a goal of mine!

Education  

School

B.S.B.A. – Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, International Business, Economics

Aug 2018 - Present

Clubs and Communities

Women LEAD

Vice President

Jan 2019 - Present
Women LEAD is a six-week professional development program specifically aimed at women's issues in the workplace. As the Vice President, I have been in charge of our "Welcome Session", kicking off the program in January. We aim for 15-30 participants each Spring, who have an opportunity to attend our networking event and apply for an executive position upon program completion

Gamma Phi Beta Sorority

Financial Vice President

Aug 2018 - Present
For me, being a part of Gamma Phi Beta has meant learning to recruit, fundraise, event plan, manage a $350,000 budget... and then discovering how to do each of these things over Zoom. I am incredibly fortunate to have spent 2020 working in a seven- person executive team to facilitate a successful recruitment of over 100 members, develop a pandemic-specific budget plan, and ensure that our 300+ active members are safe and comfortable in our chapter facility and with chapter events.

Academic Interests

French
Sports Psychology
Economics