Lydia White

Huggins, MO, USA


Last updated December 8, 2020

One Sentence About Me  

Jonathan Auxier said, "All artists, storytellers included, have one job: Tell the truth." This has since defined my writing goals.

Who I Am  

A Little About Me

I was homeschooled for the majority of my education and my family moved from Virginia to rural Missouri when my father retired from the military when I was 12. I decided to attend a school in New York City, without having seen the school or the city before. Moving away from my strict, conservative background was scary, but deeply worth it. I changed my life goals and hopes from being a stay-at-home (like my own mother) to enjoying being single and planning to stay that way. I now want to graduate with an English Degree and work at Penguin House Publishing, paying off my undergraduate debt. I then want to pursue my Masters in English Literature so that I can teach at a collegiate level, and pass on my adoration and esteem for the English language and great literature. If I hadn't left the Midwest, my life would be enormously different; it is entirely possible I would be married and expecting a child. I am so grateful to have moved to a city and been able to grow new dreams for my life and get the support to execute them.

Interesting Factoid

I am the third child out of nine in a homeschooling family and the daughter of a veteran.


Languages

English

Countries Visited

Map View

Okinawa (Japan)

What I Do  

Professional Experience

Kiowa County Schools

Paraprofessional

Feb 2019 - May 2019
I was a help to teachers with students who had exceptional needs, whether behavioral or learning. I coached or 'taught' individual students under the teachers' direction.

Professional Interests

Editor

Favorites  

Hobbies

Playing Piano, Creative Writing, Baking.

Food & Drinks

Chick-Fil-A, Goat cheese

Games

Scrabble, Dutch Blitz

Music Genres, Groups & Artists

Rock, Alternative
Twenty One Pilots, U2, Hozier, John Mark McMillan

Movies, TV Shows, Actors & Actresses

Doc Martin, The Winslow Boy

Bucket List  

Lydia White

I want to take my Grandmother to a remote cabin in Norway (the country her grandmother immigrated from) and spend a month working on separate stories (we are both writers, and she has been an enormous influence on me).

Education  

School


Academic Interests

Creative Writing
English Literature