Daniel Setton

Daniel Setton

Evansville, IN, USA


Last updated September 15, 2020

One Sentence About Me  

Limitations are self-imposed.

Photos  5

Who I Am  

A Little About Me

Hi! My name is Dan Setton! I'm 19 years old - yes, I know I look like I'm 15. I was born and raised in Brazil. As a kid, I always talked to my parents about studying abroad. At age 16, I moved to the United States by myself to pursue my education. Initially, my plan was to return to Brazil after my exchange program. Halfway through it, though, I realized how much I actually wanted to stay. My American high school decided to sponsor me and I ended up coming back and graduating high school in the US. I decided to go even further and went on to college in this country! As you can tell, my life essentially just happened. None of that was planned. You may see it as a weakness. Normally, I would tend to agree with you. However, this hectic and unpredictable life I have been living from such a young age has given me independence, maturity, and clarity about my goals. It was this hecticness that led to the idea of founding a toy rental company in Brazil 3 years ago and to discovering a passion for marketing and marketing strategy during an internship as a software developer. A personal hobby? Travelling. It is one of my favorite things to do, but you could have guessed that. Different places and opportunities excite me. I studied abroad in England during the Fall 2019 semester and visited 8 other countries during my time in Europe. Coolest place I have been to was Chamonix, France where I hiked in the Alps. Counterintuitive given my abnormal fear of heights, I know. I have been to 11 countries at age 19 and I hope to have visited 50 by the time I get called home. I am one of the most spontaneous and outgoing people you will ever meet. I love sports, particularly soccer, basketball, and volleyball. My biggest fear is death, but I have heard you cope with it better as you age. My biggest dream is to make my social project in Brazil a nationwide program. Lastly - and perhaps more important than anything that was said here - my favorite song is "Vienna" by Billy Joel.

Interesting Factoid

I am absolutely terrified of heights!


Languages

Portuguese
English
Spanish

Countries Visited

Map View

France
Spain
Poland
Switzerland
Brazil
Argentina
Scotland
Portugal
Russia
United States of America
Germany
England

What I Do  


Professional Experience

Institutional Research Intern

Jan 2020 - Present
As an institutional research intern, I have conducted research and organized Harlaxton College's data in an effort to create a comprehensive Harlaxton alumni database. I built a data system within excel to house information for future recall and collected data for over 3,500 students and alumni. By working in such a position, I have been able to greatly improve my data research and statistical skills.

International Orientation Leader

Mar 2019 - Present
As one of the carefully selected International Orientation Leaders (IOLs) at the University of Evansville, I have succeeded in helping and mentoring international students adapt and prosper in the US. To make their transition as smooth as possible, I employed powerful professional and interpersonal communication skills by working in a team and interacting with extremely diverse people.
+1 more experience

Professional Interests

Startups
Business Development
Marketing Strategy

What I Stand For  

Social Causes

Habitat for Humanity
Young Americans for Liberty
Big Brothers Big Sisters

What Inspires Me  

Instagram

Favorites  

Hobbies

Travelling
Sports

Music Genres, Groups & Artists

Billy Joel

Sports, Teams, Athletes

Basketball
Soccer
Volleyball

Movies, TV Shows, Actors & Actresses

Ozark
The Blacklist

Education  

School

B.S. – Bachelor of Science, Management & Marketing

Study Abroad, Management & Marketing


Clubs and Communities

International Club

Social Chair

As social chair of the International Club at the University of Evansville, I have excelled on directing all logistics concerning social activities and events sponsored by the largest club/organization on campus.

Academic Interests

Data Analysis
Market Research
Marketing Strategy

Extracurricular Activities

Sigma Phi Epsilon