Allison Hoover

Harrisonburg, VA, USA


Last updated December 30, 2020

Who I Am  

A Little About Me

I was born and raised in a smaller town outside of Harrisonburg. I spend a lot of my time helping my grandparents in rural West Virginia or working. Now that I am in college at Chirstopher Newport University, it is a little harder to see them as often since it is a four hour job. My grandparents have help raised and support me. My goal is to get my MD in pediatrics and specialize in oncology and work in rural towns that need more help than most. I know first hand how hard it is for many families with not a lot of resources or contact to large cities. I want to be able to give back to a place that has done so much for me.

Languages

English

Countries Visited

Map View

Canada
Ecuador

What I Do  

Professional Experience

Associate trainer

May 2018 - Jul 2020
Ringing up customers, making the food they ordered, running barista station, plating and sending out food, cleaning tables, floors, bathrooms, and making coffee/other drinks.

After school recreational leader

Recreational leader

Oct 2019 - Mar 2020
Look after a group of 50-60 students at John Wayland Elementary School three to four days a week for three hours a day. Assist in snack time, playing games, coming up with activities, and keeping children entertained. COVID-19 unfortunately shut the business down for a while.

What I Stand For  

Volunteer Experience

Childrens Museum

Harrisonburg, VA, USA

Mar 2015 - Aug 2018
Watched two toddlers everyday for two consecutive summers. Did nap time, worked on colors/numbers/alphabet, toilet training, and made lunches/snacks.

Bridgewater Retirement Home

Bridgewater, VA, USA

Jun 2015 - Mar 2017
Volunteered after school in the Alzheimer's wing where I would talk to the residents, play games, and help with activities.
+1 more experience

Education  

School

Neuroscience

Aug 2020 - Present